Bananas

Did you know that bananas come in all shades of green, yellow and red, can be a foot long or the size of your finger, and can either be sweet or used like potatoes in soups and other local dishes? Did you care?

Well, when you’re living in Tanzania you sort of have to care, and so I do, and I think I’ve eaten about 18 bananas in the past two days to prove it. Bananas are everywhere.

I ate DELICIOUS banana bread at this house where I’m staying (I always wonder if I think things are good because they really are or because I’ve eaten so much crap here) and I think the recipe is worth sharing. Don’t worry, folks, this is not becoming a cooking blog.

Stamil’s Banana Bread

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 cup flour

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

3-4 mashed bananas

1 egg

3/4 cup butter (although here they use “Blue Band” – the world’s most artery-clogging vegetable fat)

Mix bananas, sugar and butter well. Add egg, vanilla baking soda and then flour.

That’s all I know, so you’ll have to guess how much time it needs to bake. No hurry in Africa, though, so don’t worry… Hakuna matata.

4 thoughts on “Bananas

  1. I’ll try it and let you know how it tastes. Now that you’re not here, we have lots of left-over bananas that no one is eating.

Your Turn!

